Fata Morgana

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2.5 stars

This was a weird book. I don’t really know how to categorize it. The book is set during WWII and follows a group of men that crew a B-17 bomber. They are flying a mission over Germany when the plane is sucked into another dimension. The crew is stuck in a decaying world between two groups of last survivors. Their plane is confiscated by one group and the men are rescued by the other. Then there’s the problem of a huge machine guarding the portal that seems to be alive. The rest of the book covers the crew’s experience with this strange world and their attempt to recover their plane and return to the world they know.
The first third of the book is bogged down by far too much detail about planes and their mechanics and operation. I’m sure that some people would enjoy these details, but I feel that they dragged the story down considerably. I found myself skimming huge sections of the book during this part of the story. Once the plane enters the new dimension, it picks up a bit, but still found myself skimming sections that got bogged down in too much detail. Some of the crew members were entertaining, but overall I found the story blah. I liked the interaction between Farley and one of the females from the other dimension, but I didn’t really buy their instant love connection and undying love for each other. It just seemed forced and out of place.

I guess this book is historical science fiction (Is that a thing?) because I can’t think of any other way to describe it. It was just meh, and honestly, I couldn’t wait to finish the book to just get it over with. All things considered, I’d pass on this book.

