all-the-missing-girls

3.5 Stars

This is a good book, but there is something about it that prevents me from saying it’s a great book. I can’t really put my finger on it, but something really bothered me about it. Perhaps it was the fact that the story was told in reverse. Sometimes this works, but for me it was pretty confusing. I read the book over the course of a week or so, and every time I picked the book up, I had to skim back several pages to figure out what was going on. I also didn’t really like the ending. If you’re going to have a twisty book like this, you shouldn’t have a neat and tidy ending.
The story centers around Nicolette. She left a small town in North Carolina after her best friend went missing when they were 18 years old. Her boyfriend, father and brother were suspected in the disappearance, but the friend was never found and the mystery never solved. After 10 years, she returns to help fix up and sell the family home to help support her father who is suffering from dementia in a nursing home. Soon after she returns, however, another young girl goes missing. Nicolette struggles with the old emotions and fears this latest tragedy brings to the surface from her past as she attempts to solve this new disappearance.

There are plenty of twists and turns in the book, I just didn’t think the story needed to be told backwards.

